This film is part of Free

The Privileged? The Pawns

What was it like for you? Exeter University Students reveal all.

Documentary 1968 20 mins

From the collection of:

Logo for South West Film and Television Archive


This esoteric look at Exeter University students from Westward TV's series The Privileged? The Pawns (of the educational game) gives great insight into the hopes and dreams of first year students arriving at university and the disillusionment of two graduating students. At the time their French equivalents were occupying universities and leading a social revolution for change.

The School of Art at Exeter was established in 1855 by Sir Stafford Northcote. In 1922 Alderman W H Reed bought the Streatham Hall estate for the University College of the South West and this formed the base from which the University of Exeter developed achieving full university status in 1955 and splitting into four faculties of Arts, Science, Social Studies and Law. In 1962 Exeter added the Medical School and St Luke’s College joined in 1978. In 1993 the long established Camborne School of Mines in Cornwall became affiliated to the university and a new campus opened in Penryn in 2004. In 2012 the University of Exeter joined the Russell Group and is ranked among the UK’s top ten higher education facilities.