This film is part of Free

Plymouth's Pram Derby 1923

Get that Kruschen Feeling! Pram race to fundraise for the Palace Theatre

Non-Fiction 1923 3 mins Silent

In partnership with:

Logo for The Box


Ready, Steady, Roll! The Palace Theatre has organised a Pram Race to raise money for the theatre, an estimated 50,000 have gathered to watch the women take part. The Pram Derby starts at the Palace Theatre on Union Street, is seen going along Mutley Plain back to Stonehouse and Devonport. The women in first, second and third are proudly caught on camera. Beatrice Richards, Gladys Heap and Mrs S. Adams. The race was organised at the request of local patrons.

The Palace Theatre opened in 1898 as a music hall and after a fire reopened on 22 May 1899 as the New Palace Theatre of Varieties. The iconic theatre designed by William Arber of London based Wimperis and Arber, was built together with the Grand Western Hotel on Union Street in Plymouth. The Palace started life as a music hall and became a theatre, a bingo hall and a night club. The theatre building has a Grade II listing and is in the Northern Renaissance style with Art Nouveau details.